My Interview Experience at UJET [Software Engineer, Front End]

Abdullah Al Rafee
4 min readJul 3, 2024

--

In this article, I will share my interview experience at UJET, from applying to securing a job as a Software Engineer, Frontend

About Me

I am graduated in Electronics and Communication Engineering from Khulna University of Engineering & Technology. Prior to join in UJET, I worked as Assistant Head of Development at iMS Technologies.

Apply to the role

In March 2024, I found a job post in UJET linkedin page. I carefully went through the requirements and qualifications they were looking for and found myself a good match for the position. I applied following the instructions of the post via email.

Introductory Video Call with Team Lead

A few days after applying, I received an email from the hiring manager to confirm my availability for an introductory video call, along with a calendar link. Upon confirming, I was booked for the video call. The conversation focused on my background, interests, and expertise. The interviewer also discussed my expectations from UJET, including benefits and salary expectations. Additionally, he explained the entire hiring process at UJET and provided an overview of the next steps.

Hiring Manager Video Call with VP, Platform Engineering

After the first round I got another email from the hiring manager to confirm my availability for a screening round with him. After confirming, I was given introduction about UJET and what will be my role and responsibilities. In my student life I was continuing study and a full-time job after the university hours. My manager was quite impressed with it and asked how I managed to do both. And he was really amazed on my managing both at an early age. He also discussed the further process of interview and has given me some idea about the coding round.

Problem-solving round (DSA)

The third round was a coding challenge. It was an hour-long coding round in the coderpad.io platform. There was a list of languages that I could use but as I applied for the frontend role it was instructed to use javascript.

I can not disclose the exact problem but I will try to give some idea:

Topic: Dynamic Programming, Array

Difficulty: Leetcode Easy

The interview began with the question and its test was written in the IDE, and I quickly coded the solution. I also handled the follow-up questions by explaining my approach and coding the solution. I gave the correct time complexity for the solution.

Topic: Math, String, Stack, Recursion

Difficulty: Leetcode Hard

The interview began with the question and its test was written in the IDE, and I started writing some pseudo code to find out the solution. I was almost there to solve the problem but ran out of time 😑. I was asked some follow-up questions, I explained my approach and my thought of solving it.

Panel Interview- 1

The panel interview round was super intensed for me. While confirmation of the interview. I did some research on the interviewer and gained some idea about the his sort of expertise and interest. I also got myself prepared and revised in the skills I mentioned in my CV. This round was solely based on javascript and its core things. Asked some theoretical and also some implementation aspects of javascript.

Panel Interview- 2

Later after the first round of panel interview I was called for another panel interview with one of the Director of Engineering. The Interview was all about my skills in the CV. The interviewer asked for detailed examples of conflict management, and we discussed several scenarios I encountered during my experience. I explained my strategies and thought processes in navigating these conflicts, showcasing my ability to excel in different team dynamics., Coding good practices, Clean code principles, Testing of software and React.

Around a week later, I received a message from the HR confirming that I’ve been selected as a Frontend Software Engineer in the organization. Upon agreeing all terms and condition I was sent the offer letter in 2 hours. I was really happy!

I hope my interview experience helps all of you in your interview preparation .

In case you have any particular query, please feel free to drop it in comment section and ping me on linkedIn.

Resources I’ve followed to prepare for the interview 📔📔

MDN : Mozilla Developer Network

Github : Github Repository for javascript interview preparation

LWS- Youtube : Learn With Sumit

TP- Youtube : Tanay Pratap

Front End Interview Handbook: FE Interview Handbook

React: React documentation

Github: Github repository for react interview preparation

TP- Youtube: Tanay Pratap

FE Panel Interview: Simple learn

Leetcode 30 days JS

It is good to solve as much problem as you can from multiple resources. It increases critical thinking ability and develop code quality.

--

--